General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability Insurance
Errors and Omissions Insurance
Cyber Liability / Data Breach Insurance
Workers' Compensation Insurance
Business Owner’s Policy
Data Breach Insurance
Certificate of Liability Insurance
Additional Insurance Offerings
4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Get in-depth information on essential insurance coverages.
Certificate of Liability insurance
Utah's Protection of Personal Information Act requires businesses to notify their customers about a breach involving unencrypted consumer data. Notification can be in the form of a phone, email, letter, or newspaper announcement. In addition, Utah
authorities can fine businesses up to $100,000 per breach ($2,500 per affected user). This law applies to any business that owns or licenses the protected information of UT residents.
Name of Law / Statute
Protection of Personal Information Act
Definition of Protected Information
Combination of (1) name or other identifying info, PLUS (2) one or more of these "data" elements: SSN; driver's license number; or account number, credit card number, debit card number if accompanied by PIN, password, or
Who Is Subject to Law?
Any business that owns or licenses PI of Utah residents
Notification of Consumers?
Yes, unless determination of no harm by business
By what means?
Written, electronic, phone, or newspaper
Substitute Notice Threshold?
Notification of authorities / regulators required?
Up to $2,500/consumer, cap at $100k in aggregate per incident
Credit monitoring requirement?
Private lawsuits allowed?
Private damages cap?
Regulatory actions allowed?
HIPAA Compliance exemption?
Other (e.g., timeframe)
Law does not apply if PI was encrypted or otherwise secured or modified to protect PI
Link to complete law
Utahs' data breach law
Read the full text of Utah’s data breach law for more information.