General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability Insurance
Errors and Omissions Insurance
Cyber Liability / Data Breach Insurance
Workers' Compensation Insurance
Business Owner’s Policy
Data Breach Insurance
Certificate of Liability Insurance
Additional Insurance Offerings
4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Get in-depth information on essential insurance coverages.
Certificate of Liability insurance
In the state of Mississippi, any business that experiences a data breach is required to investigate the damage. Businesses are legally required to notify affected Mississippi residents as soon as possible by mail, telephone, or electronic means. When
a breach affects more than 5,000 people, or the cost of notification exceeds $5,000, businesses can use other means of notification (e.g., public service announcements).
Name of Law / Statute
Definition of Protected Information
Combination of (1) name or other identifying info, PLUS (2) one or more of these "data" elements: SSN; driver's license number; or account number, credit card number, debit card number if accompanied by PIN, password, or
Who Is Subject to Law?
Any person conducting business in the state
Notification of Consumers?
By what means?
Written, phone, or electronic
Substitute Notice Threshold?
if cost of notice >$5,000 or involves >500k residents
Notification of authorities / regulators required?
Credit monitoring requirement?
Private lawsuits allowed?
Private damages cap?
Regulatory actions allowed?
HIPAA Compliance exemption?
Other (e.g., timeframe)
Law does not apply if PI was encrypted (unless encryption was compromised)
Link to complete law
Mississippi's Data Breach Law
Read the full text of Mississippi’s data breach law to learn more.