General Liability Insurance
Professional Liability Insurance
Errors and Omissions Insurance
Cyber Liability / Data Breach Insurance
Workers' Compensation Insurance
Business Owner’s Policy
Data Breach Insurance
Certificate of Liability Insurance
Additional Insurance Offerings
4.9 out of 5 Customer Rating
Get in-depth information on essential insurance coverages.
Certificate of Liability insurance
In the state of Minnesota, any business that experiences a data breach involving unencrypted personal information is legally required to notify affected residents as soon as possible by phone or mail. If the security breach affects more than 500,000 people, or the cost of notification exceeds $250,000, other means of notification must be used (e.g., public service announcements, email, and website posting). When breaches impact more than 500 people, consumer-reporting
agencies must be notified within 48 hours.
Name of Law / Statute
Definition of Protected Information
Combination of (1) name or other identifying info, PLUS (2) one or more of these "data" elements: SSN; driver's license number; or account number, credit card number, debit card number if accompanied by PIN, password, or
Who Is Subject to Law?
Any person or business conducting business in the state who licenses or owns PI
Notification of Consumers?
By what means?
Written or electronic
Substitute Notice Threshold?
If cost of notice >$250,000 or involves >500k residents
Notification of authorities / regulators required?
Credit monitoring requirement?
Private lawsuits allowed?
Private damages cap?
Regulatory actions allowed?
HIPAA Compliance exemption?
Other (e.g., timeframe)
Law does not apply if PI was encrypted
Link to complete law
Read the full text of Minnesota’s data breach law for more information.