2014
800.668.7020
M-F 8:00AM TO 5:30PM CST
Better coverage. Better price.

Wyoming Data Breach Laws: When Do You Need to Notify Customers?

Wyoming's data breach laws require companies conducting business in the state to inform customers about data breaches. After a breach of protected information, a business has to notify customers via written or electronic message. If notification would cost more than $250,000 or a breach affects more than 500,000 residents, companies can opt to post a notice online, in a newspaper, or in a similarly public manner.

Name of Law / Statute

N/A

Definition of Protected Information

Combination of (1) name or other identifying info, PLUS (2) one or more of these "data" elements: SSN; driver's license number; or account number, credit card number, debit card number if accompanied by PIN, password, or access codes, PLUS tribal ID card

Who Is Subject to Law?

Any person or business conducting business in the state who licenses or owns PI

Notification of Consumers?

Yes, after investigation into whether consumer info was leaked b/c of breach

By what means?

Written or electronic

Substitute Notice Threshold?

For WY businesses, >$10k cost and >10k residents; for non-WY businesses that operate in WY, >$250k cost and >500k residents

Notification of authorities / regulators required?

No

By what means?

N/A

Regulatory Fines

N/A

Credit monitoring requirement?

No

Private lawsuits allowed?

Only against consumer reporting agencies for violating a security freeze

Private damages cap?

N/A

Regulatory actions allowed?

Yes

HIPAA Compliance exemption?

N/A

Other  (e.g., timeframe)

N/A

Link to complete law

Wyoming's data breach law

Read the full text of Wyoming’s data breach law.

70% of businesses raise prices or cut hiring when sued