800.668.7020
M-F 8:00AM TO 5:30PM CST
Better coverage. Better price.

Oklahoma Data Breach Laws: Requirements and Noncompliance Fines

When an Oklahoma business believes it suffered a data breach, it must inform affected Oklahoma residents as soon as possible. Businesses can send notification through mail, telephone, or email. When more than 100,000 people are affected by the breach, or the cost of notification exceeds $50,000, public service announcements can be used. Failure to follow notification requirements can result in a fine of up to $150,000.

Name of Law / Statute

Security Breach Notification Act

Definition of Protected Information

Combination of (1) name or other identifying info, PLUS (2) one or more of these "data" elements: SSN; driver's license number; or account number, credit card number, debit card number if accompanied by PIN, password, or access codes.

Who Is Subject to Law?

Any business that owns or licenses PI of Oklahoma residents

Notification of Consumers?

Yes

By what means?

Written, phone, or electronic

Substitute Notice Threshold?

If cost of notice >$50,000 or involves >100k residents

Notification of authorities / regulators required?

No

By what means?

N/A

Regulatory Fines

Up to $150k/incident

Credit monitoring requirement?

No

Private lawsuits allowed?

No

Private damages cap?

N/A

Regulatory actions allowed?

Yes (for actual damages)

HIPAA Compliance exemption?

N/A

Other  (e.g., timeframe)

Law does not apply if PI was encrypted (unless encryption was compromised) or redacted

Link to complete law

Oklahoma data breach law

Read the full text of Oklahoma’s data breach law.

70% of businesses raise prices or cut hiring when sued